Beispielbild für diese ISBN

Hewn from the Rock

Begley, Grant F

Verlag: The Clark Group, 2009
ISBN 10: 098222012X / ISBN 13: 9780982220122
Gebraucht / Soft cover / Anzahl: 1
Verkäufer Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, USA)
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen
In den Warenkorb legen
Preis: EUR 627,77
Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 0,00
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Für später vormerken

Über dieses Buch

Bibliografische Details

Titel: Hewn from the Rock

Verlag: The Clark Group

Erscheinungsdatum: 2009

Einband: Soft cover

Zustand: Used


This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Buchnummer des Verkäufers ABE_book_usedgood_098222012X

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von GoodReads):
0 durchschnittlich
(0 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: "In a narrative reminiscent of the great Kentucky author Jesse Stuart, Dr. Grant Begley has written a tribute to his father and to Appalachian Kentucky, spanning the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries. The book is a celebration of John D Begley, first in his family to become literate, who devoted his life to education, to the children of Appalachian Kentucky, to his family, and foremost to God. John D's story is told from the eyes of his son, first a boy, then a young man, growing up in a Kentucky long since gone. The hills and rivers are brought vividly to life, as are the many colorful characters. One learns how to float down the Middle Fork river in a home-made raft, dig and test a well, "cure" asthma ("tizzy"), choose the right "box supper," thrive at Berea College, fight dirty politics, and build the walnut cross for the church where one's casket eventually is placed. The tale is told with equal parts love and wry humor. The result is a portrait of a man, a place, and an era one ought not to forget. In short, Hewn From the Rock is a great read and a historical gem."
Evelyn Pluhar-Adams, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
The Pennsylvania State University, Fayette Campus

"Hewn from the Rock is an eloquent, sensitive, and honest mental map of what once was in Eastern Kentucky. Reading it brings to mind sights, smells, and tastes of lives lived courageously, intentionally, and sturdily. We owe Dr. Begley?in the tradition of Harry Caudill and Jesse Stuart?a debt for taking the time to pass these lives and traditions on to us."
Chad Berry
Director, Loyal Jones Appalachian Center
Goode Professor of Appalachian Studies, Associate Professor of History
Berea College

"This is an engaging memoir about an aspiring family who were bone and blood of a notably unprogressive part of eastern Kentucky. The main subject of the narrative is John D Begley, a man of solid character who struggled to get enough education to become an imaginative schoolteacher, principal, and an effective school superintendent in a country that sorely needed to educate its people. This story is also about his wife Myrtle Jones Begley, who was also an effective teacher and parent, and their two boys, Grant, the author of this memoir, and his brother Philip, both of whom were inspired by their parents to become medical doctors in distinguished careers. Dr. Begley?s hope is that the lives of John D and Myrtle Begley will negate some of the persistent stereotypes about Appalachian people."
Loyal Jones
Retired Director, Berea College Appalachian Center

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieter- & Zahlungsinformationen


Dieser Anbieter akzeptiert die folgenden Zahlungsarten:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Visa

[Im Angebot des Anbieters suchen]

[Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen]

[Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen]

Anbieter: Book Deals
Adresse: Lewiston, NY, USA

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit: 7. Mai 2014
Bewertung: 4 Sterne


We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind
about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link
to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.