Beispielbild für diese ISBN

A Truth Stranger Than Fiction (The Dakota Stevens Mysteries)

Orcutt, Chris

Verlag: Have Pen, Will Travel, 2015
ISBN 10: 0692352570 / ISBN 13: 9780692352571
Gebraucht / Soft cover / Anzahl: 1
Verkäufer Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, USA)
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen
In den Warenkorb legen
Preis: EUR 32,43
Währung umrechnen
Versand: EUR 0,00
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Für später vormerken

Über dieses Buch

Bibliografische Details

Titel: A Truth Stranger Than Fiction (The Dakota ...

Verlag: Have Pen, Will Travel

Erscheinungsdatum: 2015

Einband: Soft cover

Zustand: Used


This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Buchnummer des Verkäufers ABE_book_usedgood_0692352570

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von GoodReads):
4,53 durchschnittlich
(17 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: He's BACK.

Dakota Stevens. The tough, wisecracking New York private eye. And he's smarter, funnier and sexier than ever.

And so is his "Watson"?brilliant chess grandmaster Svetlana Krüsh. With her dry wit. Her runway legs. Her predator eyes.

A Truth Stranger Than Fiction, the 3rd novel in the critically acclaimed Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, delves into the bizarre, interconnected world of foreign spies and fangirls, mobsters and murderers, government bureaucrats and corporate profiteers.

Manhattan PI Dakota Stevens has just moved into new offices on Fifth Avenue when a young woman walks in with a problem: her older brother, a famous science fiction author, has been missing for a week.

Before Dakota even has a chance to take the case, he and the young woman are accosted by a horde of people searching for the brother: government agents, thugs, mobsters, and two mysterious Chinese men. What could her brother possibly be into?

In a case that leads from the streets of Manhattan to the woods of Upstate New York, to Boston and the shores of Maine, to Washington, D.C. and the Midwest?by foot, train, truck, boat and private jet?what begins as a simple missing persons investigation quickly devolves into the most difficult and personal case of Dakota's career.

In the end, Dakota exposes a secret that literally has the power to change the world.

And the truth is a truth stranger than fiction.

With humor, action, intrigue, and lush writing, A Truth Stranger Than Fiction is a compelling noir mystery in the tradition of Robert Parker and Raymond Chandler.


Praise for the Dakota Stevens Mystery Series from Amazon Customers:

"Orcutt has combined a classic hard-boiled with the page-turning frenzy of a Dan Brown novel."

"PI Dakota Stevens is a cross between Philip Marlowe and Jason Bourne and his partner Svetlana Krush is a chess Grandmaster with the body of a Victoria's Secret model."

"Just when you think you've solved the mystery, Orcutt surprises you with another unexpected twist."

"As for the characters?perfection. Flawed, funny, heroic and developed fully from the first page until the final page."

"I read A Real Piece of Work in three days. Didn't get much sleep...but it was well worth it."

"Dakota Stevens and his indispensable sidekick/chess champion Svetlana Krush are a delightful modern take on the noir detective style."

"The author's ability to paint a picture or scene with words is astounding. This book is ripe for adaptation to film."

"Orcutt weaves a story that keeps you hanging on until the very end."

"People in the reviews keep mentioning Spenser/Robert B. Parker, and they're right; but add a good streak of John Le Carré, turn the roaster up a notch, and maybe you're getting in the ballpark."

"Reading Orcutt is like chasing a lit fuse into a dark tunnel."

"I am now stalking this author on Amazon, anxiously awaiting the release of his next book in the series."

Vom Autor: Is any of A Truth Stranger Than Fiction based in reality?

Absolutely. Without giving any spoilers, I can tell you that the heart of the mystery in A Truth Stranger Than Fiction involves a highly controversial current issue?an issue that is inextricably intertwined with the Earth's future. The novel also deals with corporate profiteering, corporate-government collusion, and espionage.

One Amazon reviewer calls A Truth Stranger Than Fiction "non-Neanderthal noir." What does this mean?

I think that customer reviewer picked up on one of the things I've tried to do with the entire Dakota Stevens Mystery Series, which is this: to use elements of the old noir detective voice, including rich metaphors and fun turns of phrase, but to leave out the misogynistic and gratuitously violent elements.

Yes, Dakota is attractive to women, and yes, he finds them attractive, but he doesn't view women as objects. He truly loves, admires and respects women (i.e., his associate, Svetlana, is accomplished in her own right as a chess grandmaster). All of the female characters in the books, while they might be sexy in some way, are also smart, witty and great at whatever they do.

But in the series, Dakota is not just presented as "attractive to women"; he's very attractive to women--on par with James Bond. How realistic is this?

I'll admit that men as attractive to women as Dakota are rare, but they are out there. I went to college with two guys like him: Matt and Steve. I won't mention their last names because I don't want to intrude on their privacy, but I can tell you that their appeal to women was legendary.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Anbieter- & Zahlungsinformationen


Dieser Anbieter akzeptiert die folgenden Zahlungsarten:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • EuroCard/MasterCard
  • Visa

[Im Angebot des Anbieters suchen]

[Alle Bücher des Anbieters anzeigen]

[Dem Anbieter eine Frage stellen]

Anbieter: Book Deals
Adresse: Lewiston, NY, USA

AbeBooks Verkäufer seit: 7. Mai 2014
Bewertung: 4 Sterne


We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind
about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link
to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.