Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

4,14 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 22 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780340898031: Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

Vivid and compelling . . . an account of significant importance. * Naval Review on TRAFALGAR * A landmark book. * Observer on TRAFALGAR * Excellent . . . comprehensively researched, vividly written and judiciously argued. Wonderfully detailed pen portraits . . . Much new material from French and Spanish sources gives a rounded picture . . . it is this perspective from both sides of the battle that makes the book so compelling. * Saul David, Daily Telegraph on TRAFALGAR * 'Ideal for fans of Patrick O'Brien' * Bookseller * engaging and original, Tars is an impressive book that deserves a wide readership. * International Journal of Maritime History * Accessible, well researched, and a true literary masterpiece. * Mountbatten Maritime Award *

Reseña del editor:

TARS is a gripping firsthand account of life in the Royal Navy at its bloodiest and most temptestuous phase, beginning in 1758. Through the lives of the main protagonists - a small band of sailors from across the ranks - TRAFALGAR author Tim Clayton paints a vivid picture of the navy and the era, from close-quarter battles and roistering on the streets of London to the political decisions that built up and knocked down empires. In this death-or-glory era the navy became the main weapon of an aggressive and power-hungry government, and fighting at sea was carried out at ever-closer quarters and with ever-increasing amounts of firepower. Using never-before published first-person sources, TARS takes us through these men's daily struggles as Britain navigated her course on the political map.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9780340898024: Tars: Life in the Royal Navy during the Seven Years War

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10:  034089802X ISBN 13:  9780340898024
Verlag: Hodder & Stoughton Ltd, 2007
Hardcover

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Clayton, Tim
Verlag: Hodder Paperback (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340898038 ISBN 13: 9780340898031
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Hodder Paperback, 2008. Paperback. Zustand: New. Never used!. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers P110340898038

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 56,03
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Tim Clayton
Verlag: Hodder Paperback (2008)
ISBN 10: 0340898038 ISBN 13: 9780340898031
Neu Softcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Hodder Paperback, 2008. Zustand: New. book. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers M0340898038

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 85,95
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer