The Other Side Of The World

3,25 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 1.864 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781472230621: The Other Side Of The World
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

An insightful, exquisitely observed novel... deserves to make many a book prize shortlist (Observer)

Unflinching but tender... a moving story of marriage, home and self-discovery (Stylist)

Stephanie Bishop's second novel is a stunning work of Australian fiction about marriage and family, homesickness and nostalgia. Bishop's elegant and beautiful prose stayed with me long after finishing the final page and I found myself returning to reread passages. The Other Side of the World is definitely a standout, must-read novel of 2015. (Guardian.com)

A spellbinding and beautifully written debut by Stephanie Bishop, about a woman struggling with life as a new mother after she's uprooted by her husband to Australia (Good Housekeeping)

Her descriptions pulse with feeling... A tender portrayal of the power of memory, the pull of place and the fragility of family relationships, this is thoroughly enjoyable (Lady)

There are moments in this novel that are so beautifully and painfully evoked... I thought about it for days afterwards (Carys Bray, author of A Song for Issy Bradley)

Intelligent and poignant (Glamour)

This powerful, insightful novel has an evocation of motherhood any parent will recognise (Sunday Express)

Bishop writes with great sympathy about two individuals whose sense of themselves has come adrift, and her atmospheric scenes are painted with an arrestingly vivid palette (Daily Mail)

The novel thrums with an elegiac hum and is soft with the shifting light and worn textures of memories... magnificent...the precision and flair of the writing is breathtaking (The Australian)

Reseña del editor:

A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction. It has gone on to garner international literary acclaim.

'A stunning writer... her attention to detail makes each scene visceral' New York Times

'As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving' Hannah Beckerman, Express Books of the Year

Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.

Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home...

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA

Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

In den Warenkorb

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9781501133138: The Other Side of the World

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10: 1501133136 ISBN 13: 9781501133138
Verlag: ATRIA, 2017
Softcover

9781501133121: The Other Side of the World

Atria, 2016
Hardcover

9781472230614: The Other Side of the World

Tinder..., 2015
Hardcover

9780733633782: The Other Side of the World

Import..., 2015
Softcover

9780733636141: The Other Side of the World

Softcover

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

Beispielbild für diese ISBN

1.

Stephanie Bishop
Verlag: Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction. It has gone on to garner international literary acclaim.'A stunning writer. her attention to detail makes each scene visceral' New York Times'As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving' Hannah Beckerman, Express Books of the YearCambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers HUK9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,06
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

2.

Stephanie Bishop
Verlag: Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
The Book Depository
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline Publishing Group, United Kingdom, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Language: English. Brand new Book. A tender and gorgeously written novel of a marriage in crisis in the tradition of Revolutionary Road, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD by Stephanie Bishop was an Australian bestseller, and winner of the ABIA Award for Literary Fiction Book of the Year and the 2015 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction. It has gone on to garner international literary acclaim.'A stunning writer. her attention to detail makes each scene visceral' New York Times'As a portrait of a marriage and motherhood, THE OTHER SIDE OF THE WORLD was the most outstanding novel of the year for me. It's beautifully written, profound and deeply moving' Hannah Beckerman, Express Books of the YearCambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'.Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers HUK9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,06
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

3.

Stephanie Bishop (author)
Verlag: Headline Publishing Group 2016-06-30, London (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu paperback Anzahl: 5
Anbieter
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline Publishing Group 2016-06-30, London, 2016. paperback. Zustand: New. Language: ENG. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,92
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,36
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

4.

Bishop, Stephanie
Verlag: Headline (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu Address book Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline, 2016. Address book. Zustand: Brand New. 7.76x5.12x0.83 inches. In Stock. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers __1472230620

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,00
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 11,62
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

5.

Stephanie Bishop
Verlag: Headline Publishing Group (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu Paperback / softback Anzahl: 5
Anbieter
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline Publishing Group, 2016. Paperback / softback. Zustand: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. An unforgettable story of a woman struggling with motherhood, and her husband's attempt to create a new life for them in Australia. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers B9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,07
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 13,88
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

6.

Stephanie Bishop
Verlag: Tinder Press 2016-06-30 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Tinder Press 2016-06-30, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 6666-HCE-9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,72
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 17,41
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

7.

Bishop, Stephanie
Verlag: Headline Publishing Group (2016)
ISBN 10: 1472230620 ISBN 13: 9781472230621
Neu PAP Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Headline Publishing Group, 2016. PAP. Zustand: New. New Book. Shipped from UK. Established seller since 2000. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers HU-9781472230621

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,18
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 29,04
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer