Quit School! The Only Lessons You'll Ever Need To Learn: Eight Humorous Short Stories

4,14 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 7 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781482718256: Quit School! The Only Lessons You'll Ever Need To Learn: Eight Humorous Short Stories

QUIT SCHOOL! is designed to make you laugh while you are thinking...eight humorous short stories, both tough and tender, that can change your life if you laugh more and think less. In the tradition of J.D. Salinger, QUIT SCHOOL! reveals the enduring lessons learned outside the classroom...how wisdom really emerges. Eight lessons essential to all human happiness are hidden in the bumbling adventures of John "the Crabber" White, a young boy growing up in a small seaside town along the south shore of Long Island, New York. Bennett takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride, laughing all the way, with an array of Damon Runyonesque characters from the 1950's, only to set you down with a thud as you emerge into the light. The lessons are deceptively simple but sudden, like a slap while your head is turned. "In Bennett's novel, a young boy from the shores of Long Island struggles with family tragedy, first love and even the supernatural...adventures that help him grow up fast, whether he likes it or not. Stories with genuine heart...a blend of the humorous and the sentimental, the devastating and the hopeful. Bennett's eagerness and sincerity shine through, giving some of the stories impressive power". ~KIRKUS REVIEWS "I usually have a problem with short stories: when I've read one I find it all too easy to put the book down and not return to it. This didn't happen with QUIT SCHOOL! Earlier in the week I had one of those dreadful days that leave you wound up and cross and I reached for a book to relax with. I didn't think about it - I picked up QUIT SCHOOL! because I KNEW that I would feel better for reading it. I did. Crabber worked his magic in these eight beautifully written stories." ~Sue Magee, THE BOOKBAG UK "A good story can transport you to another time, another place, another life. Bennett writes with the kind of description that makes you feel you've been there and it is still a faint memory. Vivid descriptions like these live throughout all eight stories. Adults and children will equally enjoy John White's experiences and find, by the end of the last one, that they wish for more." ~ Ben Sharpton, author of 7 SANCTUARIES

Die Inhaltsangabe kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

About the Author:

FRANCIS BENNETT was educated in a Catholic seminary and at the Harvard Business School. This curious combination gave birth to his unusual view of life and his humorous take on all things profound to profane. "All the characters in QUIT SCHOOL! lived in and around Bay Shore when I was a boy. In the process of writing the book I created composites of real people but didn't veer too far from their actual appearance and personality. I wrote the book many years after leaving Bay Shore because, for some reason I'm not sure I understand, these people were the key to my insight into life. I realized that whatever I had become was largely thanks to this group of simple, earthy, largely uneducated blue collar characters I could not seem to forget." Bennett is currently working at his home in Scottsdale, Arizona on his second collection of QUIT SCHOOL! lessons learned along life's humorous path.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Bennett, MR Francis
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Anzahl: > 20
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung 2013. PAP. Buchzustand: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days.THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Buchnummer des Verkäufers IP-9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 5,10
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

MR Francis Bennett
Verlag: Createspace, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
The Book Depository US
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Createspace, United States, 2013. Paperback. Buchzustand: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. QUIT SCHOOL! is designed to make you laugh while you are thinking.eight humorous short stories, both tough and tender, that can change your life if you laugh more and think less. In the tradition of J.D. Salinger, QUIT SCHOOL! reveals the enduring lessons learned outside the classroom.how wisdom really emerges. Eight lessons essential to all human happiness are hidden in the bumbling adventures of John the Crabber White, a young boy growing up in a small seaside town along the south shore of Long Island, New York. Bennett takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride, laughing all the way, with an array of Damon Runyonesque characters from the 1950 s, only to set you down with a thud as you emerge into the light. The lessons are deceptively simple but sudden, like a slap while your head is. Buchnummer des Verkäufers APC9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,59
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

MR Francis Bennett
Verlag: Createspace, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
The Book Depository
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Createspace, United States, 2013. Paperback. Buchzustand: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.QUIT SCHOOL! is designed to make you laugh while you are thinking.eight humorous short stories, both tough and tender, that can change your life if you laugh more and think less. In the tradition of J.D. Salinger, QUIT SCHOOL! reveals the enduring lessons learned outside the classroom.how wisdom really emerges. Eight lessons essential to all human happiness are hidden in the bumbling adventures of John the Crabber White, a young boy growing up in a small seaside town along the south shore of Long Island, New York. Bennett takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride, laughing all the way, with an array of Damon Runyonesque characters from the 1950 s, only to set you down with a thud as you emerge into the light. The lessons are deceptively simple but sudden, like a slap while your head is. Buchnummer des Verkäufers APC9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,66
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Mr. Francis Bennett
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Anzahl: > 20
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: New. This item is Print on Demand - Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Buchnummer des Verkäufers POD_9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,90
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Mr. Francis Bennett
Verlag: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 20
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Buchzustand: New. This item is printed on demand. Paperback. 194 pages. Dimensions: 7.9in. x 5.1in. x 0.6in.QUIT SCHOOL! is designed to make you laugh while you are thinking. . . eight humorous short stories, both tough and tender, that can change your life if you laugh more and think less. In the tradition of J. D. Salinger, QUIT SCHOOL! reveals the enduring lessons learned outside the classroom. . . how wisdom really emerges. Eight lessons essential to all human happiness are hidden in the bumbling adventures of John the Crabber White, a young boy growing up in a small seaside town along the south shore of Long Island, New York. Bennett takes you on an emotional roller coaster ride, laughing all the way, with an array of Damon Runyonesque characters from the 1950s, only to set you down with a thud as you emerge into the light. The lessons are deceptively simple but sudden, like a slap while your head is turned. In Bennetts novel, a young boy from the shores of Long Island struggles with family tragedy, first love and even the supernatural. . . adventures that help him grow up fast, whether he likes it or not. Stories with genuine heart. . . a blend of the humorous and the sentimental, the devastating and the hopeful. Bennetts eagerness and sincerity shine through, giving some of the stories impressive power. KIRKUS REVIEWS I usually have a problem with short stories: when Ive read one I find it all too easy to put the book down and not return to it. This didnt happen with QUIT SCHOOL! Earlier in the week I had one of those dreadful days that leave you wound up and cross and I reached for a book to relax with. I didnt think about it - I picked up QUIT SCHOOL! because I KNEW that I would feel better for reading it. I did. Crabber worked his magic in these eight beautifully written stories. Sue Magee, THE BOOKBAG UK A good story can transport you to another time, another place, another life. Bennett writes with the kind of description that makes you feel youve been there and it is still a faint memory. Vivid descriptions like these live throughout all eight stories. Adults and children will equally enjoy John Whites experiences and find, by the end of the last one, that they wish for more. Ben Sharpton, author of 7 SANCTUARIES This item ships from La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,66
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,36
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Bennett, MR Francis
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Anzahl: > 20
Print-on-Demand
Anbieter
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung 2013. PAP. Buchzustand: New. New Book. Delivered from our US warehouse in 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND.Established seller since 2000. Buchnummer des Verkäufers IP-9781482718256

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 5,53
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 9,81
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Francis Bennett
ISBN 10: 1482718251 ISBN 13: 9781482718256
Neu Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 97814827182561.0

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 15,58
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer