Death Among Rubies: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery

3,85 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 314 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781629538167: Death Among Rubies: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

Praise for Death Among Rubies: "Koreto's appealing sequel...nicely blends international intrigue and affairs of the heart." ---Publishers Weekly "Koreto's second case for his titled heroine is devilishly clever and written with unmistakable verve." --Kirkus Reviews "Koreto skillfully contrasts the feminist milieu of 1907 England with the establishment class structure. Lady Frances and Mallow are an effective pairing." --Booklist "A charming Edwardian mystery with a delightfully unconventional heroine...Fans of Rhys Bowen, Charles Todd and Jacqueline Winspear are sure to enjoy." --Shelf Awareness "A very enjoyable series... Koreto has definitely made a mark in the writing world: He is a superb writer of the beloved upstairs/downstairs mystery." --Suspense Magazine Praise for the Death on the Sapphire: "Upstairs teams with downstairs in this thoroughly entertaining, witty Edwardian mystery debut... A solid choice for fans of Robin Paige and Downton Abbey." --Library Journal "[A] refreshing debut... Readers will look forward to seeing more of Frances in the promised sequel." --Publishers Weekly "Lady Frances is a strong, clever protagonist, in the mold of Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton and Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs.Lady Frances is a strong, clever protagonist, in the mold of Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton and Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs." --Booklist "Fans of both Downton Abbey and Agatha Christie will embrace the subtly witty, refreshingly unconventional heroine in Koreto's debut series." --RT Book Reviews "I loved every minute... With a memorable heroine, rich atmosphere, and intriguing mystery, Koreto has created a book that will engage and entertain readers. I eagerly await book 2. Highly recommended!" --Historical Novel Society, Editor's Choice "An intelligent and engrossing historical novel with an wonderfully independent heroine (of the right social class!) and her enterprising maid. But it is by no means a cozy story, delving into the grim realities of war." --Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author of the Molly Murphy and Royal Spyness mysteries "R. J. Koreto introduces a delightful new heroine with Lady Frances Ffolkes. Everyone underestimates Lady Frances and usually to their dismay. You'll love reading about her adventures as she takes time out from her efforts in the Women's Suffrage movement to solve the murder of an old friend." --Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights "What a fun read, good storytelling that whisks along at a cracking pace, neatly plotted with a satisfying ending. Lady Frances Ffolkes is irresistible--caring, clever and resourceful. I look forward to meeting her again many times." --M.R.C. Kasasian, author of the Gower Street Detective series "A memorable heroine--a young suffragette--and her equally dauntless maid engage in a battle of wits against the Establishment that is ready to kill to keep the truth buried. An enjoyable read." --Carola Dunn, author of the Daisy Dalrymple mysteries "Spirited and tenacious, Lady Frances Ffolkes is a force to be reckoned with as she endeavors, undaunted by all obstacles, to find a missing manuscript and solve the murder of a family friend in this charming Edwardian-era mystery. With Death on the Sapphire, R.J. Koreto has given us a winning heroine and a thoroughly delightful read." --Ashley Weaver, author of the Amory Ames mysteries "Suffragette Lady Frances Ffolkes takes readers on a spirited journey to locate a stolen manuscript and solve the murder of a family friend. Witty, tenacious, and thoroughly engaging." --Anna Lee Huber, award-winning and national bestselling author of the Lady Darby mystery series

Reseña del editor:

Lady Frances Ffolkes is incensed when she finds out that her dear friends Gwendolyn and Thomasina have been subject to vicious threats. Promising to uncover their attacker, she travels with them to Kestrel's Eyrie, the fabled estate belonging to Gwen's family. But soon Frances faces an even greater problem, when Gwen's father, a powerful diplomat, is stabbed to death with his prized ruby dagger. Frances, with her loyal maid June Mallow at her side, jumps right into interrogating the estate's numbered guests: a charming Turkish diplomat with a habit of sneaking off into the night, a brash American heiress with lofty dreams of becoming mistress of the Eyrie, two gossiping widows with their own scandalous secrets, and Gwen's own aunt tasked with keeping the affairs of the estate in order among the chaos of the investigation. But as the case unfolds, Frances's righteous conviction might just be the very thing that leads danger--and even more death--to her own doorstep. Old sins do indeed cast long shadows in Death Among Rubies, a delightful closed-room mystery in the vein of Agatha Christie and the second in R.J. Koreto's effortlessly charming historical series.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9781629537764: Death Among Rubies: A Lady Frances Ffolkes Mystery (Lady Frances Ffolkes Mysteries)

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10: 1629537764 ISBN 13: 9781629537764
Verlag: Crooked Lane Books, 2016
Hardcover

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

Beispielbild für diese ISBN

1.

Koreto, R. J.
Verlag: Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538167 ISBN 13: 9781629538167
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Mr. Bookman
(Franklin, PA, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Reprint. All books are mailed out in a bubble wrap mailer to protect your purchase. Orders are ALWAYS shipped same day or next day with FREE TRACKING emailed to you automatically. (WE TRY HARD TO DESCRIBE OUR BOOKS ACCURATELY SO YOU CAN BUY WITH CONFIDENCE). Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 352D410013Y6

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 5,02
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,30
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

2.

Koreto, R. J.
Verlag: Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538167 ISBN 13: 9781629538167
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Reprint. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 1629538167-2-1

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 12,16
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

3.

Koreto, R. J.
Verlag: Crooked Lane Books (2016)
ISBN 10: 1629538167 ISBN 13: 9781629538167
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Crooked Lane Books, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Reprint. book. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers M1629538167_11

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 13,88
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 18,01
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer