Cleaning Up New York: The '70s Cult Classic

3,58 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 99 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9781936941131: Cleaning Up New York: The '70s Cult Classic
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

"I first read Cleaning Up New York when it was published in the 1970s and I've been recommending it to people ever since. It's one of those great, rare works the style of which--immaculate, with unexpected descriptor glints, and funny, low-key frankness--perfectly embodies its subject, namely the revelation of soft shine in humble corners of New York. it's a miracle and you don't have to be clean to appreciate it.
--Richard Hell

"Bob Rosenthal's Cleaning Up New York is a perfect little gem of a book. There is not one wasted or misplaced word in this chronicle, which manages to contain an awful lot of the world in its few pages. It's not only about the city and its range of denizens, but also about the art of living, the satisfaction of humble work, the way poetry arises from daily experience. and if that weren't enough, it also includes really useful advice about cleaning!
--Luc Sante

"[Cleaning Up New York] is one of the great neglected books of the 1970s, a classic short essay...it's brilliant and playful...and eminently practical, too."--The Endless Bookshelf blog

Praise for Straight Around Allen
"Bob Rosenthal's unique, remarkable, and candid recollections of two decades working as secretary for Allen...are, quite frankly, essential reading."--The Allen Ginsberg Project blog

Reseña del editor:

Cleaning Up New York has been a word-of-mouth cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in an edition of 750.
 
The East Village, NYC, 1976. A twenty-six-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner? The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors.
 
Bob knows one thing: Dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and intimate dramas; weird vibes and strange discoveries; appreciation, dependency, dismissal. . . and seduction.
 
Even if he’s asked to clean up a loft the size of the Strand—and he is, and it’s above the legendary bookstore—he coffees up with a doughnut, fortifies himself with some (pocketed) weed, and sets out anew, with disarming insight, originality, and humor.
 
With alternate chapters devoted to practical cleaning tips, Cleaning Up New Yorkis a quirky reinvention in the tradition of George Orwell’s Down and Out in Paris andLondon, Studs Terkel’s chronicles of the working class, and Mrs. Beeton’s Book ofHousehold Management—its narrator a spiritual descendant of Candide, Ida Tarbell, and Holden Caulfield.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9780935992274: Cleaning Up New York

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10: 0935992278 ISBN 13: 9780935992274
Verlag: Angel Hair Books, 1976, 1976
Softcover

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

Foto des Verkäufers

1.

Rosenthal, Bob
Verlag: Little Bookroom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: new. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,40
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

2.

Rosenthal, Bob
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Anzahl: 5
Anbieter
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Zustand: New. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 25221690-n

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 7,26
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 2,17
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

3.

Bob Rosenthal
Verlag: Little Bookroom,U.S., United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom,U.S., United States, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Main. Language: English. Brand new Book. THE EAST VILLAGE, NYC, 1976. A 26-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner? The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors. Bob knows one thing: the dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and strange discoveries. When Bob becomes a weekly fixture in his clients' lives, anything can happen, and does, including a memorable encounter with an obliging Hoover that ultimately proves unable to get the job done. Cleaning Up New York has been a cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in an edition of 750. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers BTA9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,49
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

4.

Rosenthal, Bob
Verlag: Little Bookroom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 6
Anbieter
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers DIAM-ZPRH-9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,79
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,29
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

5.

Rosenthal, Bob
Verlag: Little Bookroom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Softcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
GlassFrogBooks
(Hawthorne, CA, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom, 2016. Zustand: New. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in NEW condition. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 1936941139-2-1

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 13,97
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

6.

Bob Rosenthal
Verlag: Little Bookroom April 2016 (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Inquiring Minds
(Saugerties, NY, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom April 2016, 2016. Hardcover. Zustand: New. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 139647

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 10,98
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,28
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

7.

Rosenthal, Bob
Verlag: Little Bookroom
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Anzahl: 3
Anbieter
Books Puddle
(New York, NY, USA)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom. Zustand: New. pp. 200. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 26372706683

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,27
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,29
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Foto des Verkäufers

8.

Rosenthal, Bob
Verlag: Little Bookroom (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
V-King
(Slough, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: new. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,53
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,38
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

9.

Bob Rosenthal
Verlag: Little Bookroom,U.S., United States (2016)
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
The Book Depository
(London, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom,U.S., United States, 2016. Paperback. Zustand: New. Main. Language: English. Brand new Book. THE EAST VILLAGE, NYC, 1976. A 26-year-old starving poet needs $60. What else to do but register with a temp agency as a house cleaner? The excitement never wanes as he is catapulted into the everyday yet unimaginable worlds behind closed (apartment) doors. Bob knows one thing: the dirt will always win. Clients are a bit more unpredictable, he discovers, as he comes to terms with eccentric domestic habits and strange discoveries. When Bob becomes a weekly fixture in his clients' lives, anything can happen, and does, including a memorable encounter with an obliging Hoover that ultimately proves unable to get the job done. Cleaning Up New York has been a cult classic since it was first published in 1976 in an edition of 750. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers FOY9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 15,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer
Beispielbild für diese ISBN

10.

Bob Rosenthal
Verlag: Little Bookroom,U.S.
ISBN 10: 1936941139 ISBN 13: 9781936941131
Neu Paperback / softback Anzahl: 5
Anbieter
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung

Buchbeschreibung Little Bookroom,U.S. Paperback / softback. Zustand: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 4 working days. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers B9781936941131

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 9,49
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 13,46
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen