The Body Has a Mind of Its Own: How Body Maps in Your Brain Help You Do (Almost) Everything Better

Blakeslee, Matthew, Blakeslee, Sandra

Verlag: Tantor Audio, 2007
ISBN 10: 1400104971 / ISBN 13: 9781400104970
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Gently used. Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,95 durchschnittlich
(603 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: Why do you still feel fat after losing weight? Why do you duck your head when you drive into an underground parking garage? Why are your kids so enthralled by video games? The answers to these questions can be found in a new understanding of how your brain interacts with your body, the space around your body, and the social world. Every point on your body, each internal organ, and every point in space out to the end of your fingertips is mapped inside your brain. Your ability to sense, move, and act in the physical world arises from a rich network of flexible body maps distributed throughout your brain. The science of body maps has far-reaching applications. It can help people lose weight, improve their ability to play a sport, or assist recovery from stroke. It points the way to new treatments for anorexia and phantom limbs. It helps explain out-of-body experiences, auras, placebos, and healing touch. It provides a new way to understand human emotions from love to hate, lust to disgust, pride to humiliation. With scientific discoveries from every corner of the globe, Sandra and Matthew Blakeslee have written a compelling narrative that is positively mind-bending and that will appeal to readers of Sharon Begley's Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain.

About the Author: Matthew Blakeslee is a freelance science writer based in Los Angeles.

Sandra Blakeslee is a science correspondent at the New York Times who specializes in the brain sciences.

Kate Reading, a freelance narrator for over twenty years, is an Audie Award and AudioFile Earphones Award winner and has been named Narrator of the Year by AudioFile magazine. Her work onstage has been recognized by the Helen Hayes Awards Society, the Washington Theatre Lobby Awards, and the Carbonell Awards in Florida.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Body Has a Mind of Its Own: How Body ...
Verlag: Tantor Audio
Erscheinungsdatum: 2007
Zustand: very good

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Matthew Blakeslee
Verlag: Tantor Audio (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400104971 ISBN 13: 9781400104970
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Tantor Audio, 2007. Audio CD. Buchzustand: Good. Unabridged. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 1400104971

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 77,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer