The Cobweb

Bury, Stephen

Verlag: Bantam, 1996
ISBN 10: 0553378287 / ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Gently used. Expect delivery in 20 days. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,59 durchschnittlich
(2.486 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: A thought-provoking new thriller set in the tense moments of the Gulf War. When Clyde Banks, an Iowan Deputy with a newborn baby and a wife in the Gulf, starts looking into odd events in his town, he discovers a plot involving a new Triangle Trade of terrorists, chemical warfare, and training. Mixing the events staged in Washington, D.C. and those happening in the Gulf, a strange thread of deceit appears to be winding its way back to Iowa.


From the Paperback edition.

From Kirkus Reviews: When this latest wacky thriller from Bury (Interface, not reviewed)--a pseudonym for Neal Stephenson (The Diamond Age, 1995, etc.) and J. Frederick George--puts a bunch of overweight, incorruptible Iowa huskers up against Saddam Hussein just before Desert Storm, you know the bad guy with the moustache is going to take a fall. Washington, D.C., couldn't be farther from Folks County, Iowa, where the murder of an Arab agriculture student sends the slow- talking Deputy Sheriff Clyde Banks poking into the drab closets of a high-tech bioscience laboratory that just might be cooking up Saddam's next biological warfare weapon. Meanwhile, Betsy Vandeventer, a meek, low-level CIA analyst, formerly of Folks County, makes the mistake of informing her superiors that not enough of the billions in Food for Peace foreign aid going into Iraq is being spent on soybeans. Targeted for bureaucratic extinction, Vandeventer forms an uneasy partnership with Richard Spector, a slickly confident CIA executive of uncertain loyalties. The authors play satirically with the humble cloth from which history stitches its tapestry, as the fate of the free world stumbles on, propelled by the random, inconsequential, frequently stupid, and often hilarious foibles of mere mortals. Slimy ``inside of the inside of the inside'' power-players join unctuous hit men and hopeless drunks to create mayhem for the plain Heartland types like Vandeventer, Banks and his bride, Desiree ``Deltoids'' Dhont, an Army Reserve nurse who sticks Banks with their five-month old daughter so she can win one for Poppy Bush when Desert Shield becomes Desert Storm. The plain folks take a few tumbles, Banks changes more than his share of diapers, and the world remains safe for democracy--until, at least, the authors bless us with a sequel. A charming, uproariously clever thriller, in the tradition of Ross Thomas and Richard Condon, with plenty of wry wit and deftly rendered characters. -- Copyright ©1996, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: The Cobweb
Verlag: Bantam
Erscheinungsdatum: 1996
Zustand: very good

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Bury, Stephen
Verlag: Bantam (1996)
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam, 1996. Buchzustand: Fair. First Edition. N/A. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP17117656

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Bury, Stephen
Verlag: Bantam (1996)
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam, 1996. Buchzustand: Fair. First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP82255748

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Bury, Stephen
Verlag: Bantam (1996)
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam, 1996. Buchzustand: Very Good. First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP76762979

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Stephen Bury
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2721295488

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Stephen Bury
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2729040835

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Stephen Bury
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2749423233

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Stephen Bury
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2749375772

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Stephen Bury
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2758264994

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

Bury, Stephen
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0553378287I3N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

Bury, Stephen
Verlag: Bantam
ISBN 10: 0553378287 ISBN 13: 9780553378283
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Bantam. Paperback. Buchzustand: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0553378287I3N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 28 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen