ISBN 10: 0312329059 / ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: This is a book about God. Not just any god, but the god that created Adam and Eve; the god of Abraham, the god of the Jews; the god of the Christians; and the god of Islam---without a doubt, the most influential figure in the history of human civilization. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,62 durchschnittlich
(39 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: This is a book about God.

Not just any god, but the god that created Adam and Eve; the god of Abraham, the god of the Jews; the god of the Christians; and the god of Islam---without a doubt, the most influential figure in the history of human civilization. But what do we really know about him? Who is he? Where did he come from? What does he look like? What sort of character does he have? What, if anything, does he eat? Does he have a family? In what ways can he be said to even exist at all?

Alexander Waugh has been asking questions like these for as long as he can remember. Now, having drawn from an enormous range of sources, from the sacred books of the Torah, the Christian New Testament, and the Islamic Qur'an, from the Greek Apocrypha and the ancient texts of Nag Hammadi to the Dead Sea Scrolls, he has sought out the answers. Using material gleaned from the diverse writings of saints, rabbis, historians, prophets, atheists, poets, and mystics, he has molded his findings into a singular, striking biographical portrait of God.

Erudite, perceptive, and entertaining, God reveals many startling and unexpected characteristics of the divine being. From the simple stories of Genesis and Job, explored from God's own viewpoint, to the prophecies of Muhammad and Sybil and the intricate philosophies of Newton and Nietzsche, Alexander Waugh has left no stone unturned in his compulsive mission to create a fascinating and complex portrait of God, as humans have claimed to understand him.

Klappentext: British praise for God

"Deeply felt and genuine . . .Waugh's biography is a search for love---and strangely, the god he leaves us with, however impossible, remains attractive." ---Jeanette Winterson, The Times

"Immensely entertaining, and a sovereign remedy against the absurdities and dangers of religious belief . . . clever and perceptive." --- Literary Review

"Waugh has produced a monumental jeu d'ésprit, a testimony to human ingenuity and imagination, a cornucopia of bizarre musings on a perennial theme." --- Financial Times

"Peculiar and delightful . . . I loved it." --- Mail on Sunday

"A tremendously funny book with a serious purpose." --- Scotland on Sunday

"Ten out of ten for the title. And ten out of ten for the idea, the approach, the style, the writing---above all the writing---and the sublime audacity of it all." ---Michael Brown, Yorkshire Post

"Waugh's scholarship is extremely impressive." --- New Humanist

"I feel enriched---though not in a manner that would please the parish priest---for having accompanied Waugh on his irreverent quest." --- Belfast Telegraph

"An exhilarating train ride. As an atheist I was much heartened by this book." --- The Spectator

"If God has a sense of humor then I suspect that Waugh's reward will be in heaven." ---Rabbi Charles Middleburgh, Jewish Review

"We desperately need to be challenged to think clearly about the ways we believe in God and this book certainly does that." ---Rev. Harvey Richardson, Methodist Recorder

"Alexander Waugh deserves an accolade." --- Oxford Times

"This book makes mincemeat of theism . . . it should be compulsory reading for all schools and colleges." ---A. C. Grayling, Literary Review

"[Waugh's] sardonic, urbane tone is in the tradition of Gibbon or Hume... very funny... wherever you stand - or think you do - on the God question, this is a good read." -- The Independent

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books, 2004. Buchzustand: Good. First Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP37720900

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,02
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Alexander Waugh
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2747928637

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,36
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,56
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Dust Cover Missing. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I5N01

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Books Squared
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Dust Cover Missing. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I5N11

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I4N10

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I3N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Second City Books
(Aurora, IL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Very good condition - book only shows a small amount of wear. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I4N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I5N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

Waugh, Alexander
Verlag: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Thomas Dunne Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Light wear to edges and pages. Cover and spine show no easily noticeable damage. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0312329059I4N10

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,25
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

ISBN 10: 0312329059 ISBN 13: 9780312329051
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Seattle Goodwill
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 0KVBKD003WQP

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 0,92
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 17,84
Von USA nach Deutschland
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 31 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen