ISBN 10: 0399145346 / ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
4,3 durchschnittlich
(50 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: A beautiful book, featuring hundreds of classic recipes, that captures the essence of Southern foodways.

In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.

The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Index.

* illustrated with black-and-white-photographs throughouttext printed in two colors

Rezension: There is a calmness to this book, and it comes from an assured knowledge rising out of the kind of scholarship that sets aside popular mythology in favor of the ways things actually are and have been. No U.S. region suffers more from popular mythology, some of it benign, much of it mocking and cruel, than the South. Author-editor John T. Edge encourages the reader of A Gracious Plenty to taste the South for what it is and has been. The book has the backing of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi. In his introduction, Center director Charles Reagan Wilson points to the Southern Thanksgiving of his father-in-law, a native Mississippian who happens to be Lebanese. Both deep-fried turkey and kibbe are served, with stuffed grape and cabbage leaves as well as oyster dressing and sweet potato casserole. The heritage, he writes, is strictly Southern.

The recipes are drawn from community cookbooks--"those clunky, spiral-bound, gravy-spattered volumes." While they get little respect, these volumes are an important part of the Southern kitchen and food tradition. The earliest ones date back to the Civil War and then as now were published to raise funds for a cause. Apparently, by the close of the 19th century, more than 2,000 community cookbooks were in print. Edge rightly points out that recipes gathered into a community cookbook are never authored by one, but by many. In effect, he encourages the reader to pull a seat up to the Southern table. Many of the voices heard in A Gracious Plenty come from material gathered by writers and journalists between 1935 and 1942 working for the Federal Writers Project.

The recipes are divided into sections that include appetizers, beverages, breads, salads and dressings, sides and vegetables, soups and stews, meats, poultry, fish and seafood, sauces, preserves, jellies and pickles, desserts, and a final section on menus. These are home recipes, church-basement recipes, proud recipes. They taste like reality made up of pain and hospitality and careless laughter. A Gracious Plenty is a wonderful book and an important addition to anyone's cookbook library. --Schuyler Ingle

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Buchzustand: Good. 1St Edition. N/A. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP87618872

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Buchzustand: Good. 1St Edition. N/A. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP8513295

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Buchzustand: Good. 1St Edition. N/A. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP91576449

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,20
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Motor City Books
(Brownstown, MI, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I5N10

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,68
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Dust Cover Missing. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I5N01

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,68
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Dust Cover Missing. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I5N01

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,68
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Dust Cover Missing. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I3N01

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,68
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Books Squared
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I3N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,68
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

John T. Edge and Ellen Rolfes
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. Book Condition: Good. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 97803991453464.0

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 7,71
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,57
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

John T Edge
Verlag: PENGUIN PUTNAM TRADE (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Powell's Books
(Portland, OR, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung PENGUIN PUTNAM TRADE, 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Good. HARDCOVER Legendary independent bookstore online since 1994. Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. Cooking and Food>Regional and Ethnic>United States>Southern. Book: USED, Good. Dust Jacket: Good. Bookseller Inventory # 06978039914534608. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 06978039914534608

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 11,01
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,02
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 19 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen