ISBN 10: 0399145346 / ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
4,3 durchschnittlich
(53 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: A beautiful book, featuring hundreds of classic recipes, that captures the essence of Southern foodways.

In the tradition of The Junior League Centennial Cookbook, The Black Family Reunion Cookbook, and the regional and community cookbooks that are treasured by millions of home cooks, A Gracious Plenty is an exuberant celebration of the food and culinary traditions that define the character of the American South.

The more than 400 recipes--culled from community cookbooks representing a diversity of geographical and social influences--are only the first layer in this richly textured work. Throughout the book, evocative essays recall the distinctive food myths and stories of the South. Among the contributors, B. B. King remembers his sharecropping family; Roy Blount, Jr., talks of his mother's giblet and red-eye gravies; Edna Lewis praises dandelion greens and poke "sallet"; and Shelby Foote tells of buying hot tamales from a street vendor. These, and dozens of other meal memories, are testaments to the importance of family, community, and the gracious plenty of food in the South. Index.

* illustrated with black-and-white-photographs throughouttext printed in two colors

Review: There is a calmness to this book, and it comes from an assured knowledge rising out of the kind of scholarship that sets aside popular mythology in favor of the ways things actually are and have been. No U.S. region suffers more from popular mythology, some of it benign, much of it mocking and cruel, than the South. Author-editor John T. Edge encourages the reader of A Gracious Plenty to taste the South for what it is and has been. The book has the backing of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi. In his introduction, Center director Charles Reagan Wilson points to the Southern Thanksgiving of his father-in-law, a native Mississippian who happens to be Lebanese. Both deep-fried turkey and kibbe are served, with stuffed grape and cabbage leaves as well as oyster dressing and sweet potato casserole. The heritage, he writes, is strictly Southern.

The recipes are drawn from community cookbooks--"those clunky, spiral-bound, gravy-spattered volumes." While they get little respect, these volumes are an important part of the Southern kitchen and food tradition. The earliest ones date back to the Civil War and then as now were published to raise funds for a cause. Apparently, by the close of the 19th century, more than 2,000 community cookbooks were in print. Edge rightly points out that recipes gathered into a community cookbook are never authored by one, but by many. In effect, he encourages the reader to pull a seat up to the Southern table. Many of the voices heard in A Gracious Plenty come from material gathered by writers and journalists between 1935 and 1942 working for the Federal Writers Project.

The recipes are divided into sections that include appetizers, beverages, breads, salads and dressings, sides and vegetables, soups and stews, meats, poultry, fish and seafood, sauces, preserves, jellies and pickles, desserts, and a final section on menus. These are home recipes, church-basement recipes, proud recipes. They taste like reality made up of pain and hospitality and careless laughter. A Gracious Plenty is a wonderful book and an important addition to anyone's cookbook library. --Schuyler Ingle

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

John T. Edge; Ellen Rolfes
Verlag: Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I3N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 5,17
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

John T. Edge; Ellen Rolfes
Verlag: Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Appearance of only slight previous use. Cover and binding show a little wear. All pages are undamaged with potentially only a few, small markings. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0399145346I4N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 5,17
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Seattle Goodwill
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 0KVBHV0034B4

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 1,95
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

John T. Edge; Ellen Rolfes
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Used: Good. Buchnummer des Verkäufers SONG0399145346

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 10,79
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
BookStore Independent
(Memphis, TN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Used: Good. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 14884532

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 20,70
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,22
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult, U.S.A. (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Neu Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Muse Book Shop
(DeLand, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, U.S.A., 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: New. Zustand des Schutzumschlags: New. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 90895196

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 26,25
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,82
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Buchnummer des Verkäufers P020399145346

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 29,08
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,69
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Like New. Almost new condition. Buchnummer des Verkäufers P010399145346

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 34,14
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,69
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

Edge, John T.; Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fine. 0399145346 Like New Condition. Buchnummer des Verkäufers LN7.0142943

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 34,99
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,24
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

Edge, John T., Rolfes, Ellen
Verlag: Putnam Adult (1999)
ISBN 10: 0399145346 ISBN 13: 9780399145346
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Putnam Adult, 1999. Buchzustand: very good. Gently used. Expect delivery in 20 days. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 9780399145346-3

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 36,74
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,40
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 7 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen