ISBN 10: 098222012X / ISBN 13: 9780982220122
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
0 durchschnittlich
(0 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: "In a narrative reminiscent of the great Kentucky author Jesse Stuart, Dr. Grant Begley has written a tribute to his father and to Appalachian Kentucky, spanning the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth centuries. The book is a celebration of John D Begley, first in his family to become literate, who devoted his life to education, to the children of Appalachian Kentucky, to his family, and foremost to God. John D's story is told from the eyes of his son, first a boy, then a young man, growing up in a Kentucky long since gone. The hills and rivers are brought vividly to life, as are the many colorful characters. One learns how to float down the Middle Fork river in a home-made raft, dig and test a well, "cure" asthma ("tizzy"), choose the right "box supper," thrive at Berea College, fight dirty politics, and build the walnut cross for the church where one's casket eventually is placed. The tale is told with equal parts love and wry humor. The result is a portrait of a man, a place, and an era one ought not to forget. In short, Hewn From the Rock is a great read and a historical gem."
Evelyn Pluhar-Adams, Ph.D.
Professor of Philosophy
The Pennsylvania State University, Fayette Campus

"Hewn from the Rock is an eloquent, sensitive, and honest mental map of what once was in Eastern Kentucky. Reading it brings to mind sights, smells, and tastes of lives lived courageously, intentionally, and sturdily. We owe Dr. Begley—in the tradition of Harry Caudill and Jesse Stuart—a debt for taking the time to pass these lives and traditions on to us."
Chad Berry
Director, Loyal Jones Appalachian Center
Goode Professor of Appalachian Studies, Associate Professor of History
Berea College

"This is an engaging memoir about an aspiring family who were bone and blood of a notably unprogressive part of eastern Kentucky. The main subject of the narrative is John D Begley, a man of solid character who struggled to get enough education to become an imaginative schoolteacher, principal, and an effective school superintendent in a country that sorely needed to educate its people. This story is also about his wife Myrtle Jones Begley, who was also an effective teacher and parent, and their two boys, Grant, the author of this memoir, and his brother Philip, both of whom were inspired by their parents to become medical doctors in distinguished careers. Dr. Begley’s hope is that the lives of John D and Myrtle Begley will negate some of the persistent stereotypes about Appalachian people."
Loyal Jones
Retired Director, Berea College Appalachian Center

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: Used

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Grant F Begley
Verlag: The Clark Group (2009)
ISBN 10: 098222012X ISBN 13: 9780982220122
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
HPB-Dallas
(Dallas, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung The Clark Group, 2009. Paperback. Buchzustand: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0001173656

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 268,16
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Begley, Grant F
Verlag: The Clark Group (2009)
ISBN 10: 098222012X ISBN 13: 9780982220122
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
agoodealofbooks
(Ypsilanti, MI, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung The Clark Group, 2009. Paperback. Buchzustand: Very Good. isbn matches very clean softcover. no marks. clean text. solid binding. very light wear Fast service with confirmation, no international or priority orders over 4lbs. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0000127419

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 489,45
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Grant F Begley
Verlag: The Clark Group (2009)
ISBN 10: 098222012X ISBN 13: 9780982220122
Gebraucht Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung The Clark Group, 2009. Paperback. Buchzustand: Good. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 098222012X

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 1.119,73
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer