ISBN 10: 163192611X / ISBN 13: 9781631926112
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Inhaltsangabe: From the Kirkus Review: Homer's millennia-old story about the abduction of Helen from Sparta and the resulting 10-year Greek siege of Troy is given a fresh retelling in Garnett's fiction debut, this time centering on the character of handsome, exiled Trojan prince Paris, a simple woodsman who one day encounters a miraculous vision: three goddesses, each of whom offers him a prize. He can choose to have wisdom, power, or the most beautiful woman in the world, Helen of Sparta, wife of King Menelaus. Paris picks Helen, re-introduces himself to his royal family at Troy, sets out for Menelaus' palace, and there finds Helen every bit as bewitching as her reputation foretold (" Words to describe her make no sense unless you see her, in which case no words are needed."). She's also unhappy and willingly goes with Paris back to Troy. The Greeks soon follow. Readers familiar with Homer's "Iliad" will know what happens next : coastal raids, battles and ten years of conflict , during which, as Helen bitterly points out, the Trojans turn from welcoming to blaming her. They also blame Paris, who's constantly upbraided for his blithe, carefree nature in the midst of war ( as Hector puts it, "Who can blame them if they cannot endure the sight of you, so calm and cheerful in the presence of their pain?"). Garnett treats all this familiar subject matter with vivid, gripping freshness. He largely demythologizes the story ( apart from Paris' initial fever-dream of goddesses, Homer's host of interfering immortals is absent from the book) and, instead, fills it with acute, dramatically convincing psychology. He narrates events from Paris' point of view, and although the young prince is always feckless and self- absorbed, the reader somehow never hates him---and the book's other characters are equally and refreshingly complex. Fans of Sarah Franklin's "Daughter of Troy" and Marian Zimmer Bradley's "The Firebrand" will find this an outstanding addition to the ranks of Trojan War novels. A lyrical, outstanding reshaping of the ancient Homeric epic." Note: Kirkus Review gave " I, Paris" a starred review and named it one its "Best of 2013" books.

Über den Autor: Rick Garnett, a retired lawyer, graduated from Swarthmore College in 1965 with a degree in Classical Greek. In the ensuing 42 years, while practicing law in Alaska and Arizona, he continued to indulge his love for the classics by almost daily readings in the original Latin or Greek. His previous writing experience includes two youthful summers as a newspaper reporter and columnist in Opelousas,Louisiana, occasional sonnets, and many legal briefs and memoranda, sometimes featuring such gems as "mutatis mutandis" and "Penelope's Web". This is his first novel. In 2006-2007 Mr Garnett spent a year teaching Latin at a local charter school, a time he views as a high point. His other interests include blues jams, tennis, and an endless series of online chess games with his son-in-law. Mr Garnett and his wife Catherine, parents of four and grandparents of ten, divide their time among Scottsdale and Bisbee, Arizona, and visits to offspring in Boston and South Bend.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Titel: $listing_disp.getBaseListing().getTitle()



Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Garnett, Rick
Verlag: BookBaby
ISBN 10: 163192611X ISBN 13: 9781631926112
Gebraucht PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Central Kentucky Book Supply, LLC
(Nicholasville, KY, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung BookBaby. PAPERBACK. Buchzustand: Very Good. 163192611X 100% Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed. Buchnummer des Verkäufers Z163192611XZ2

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 10,04
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,76
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Garnett, Rick
Verlag: BookBaby (2015)
ISBN 10: 163192611X ISBN 13: 9781631926112
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung BookBaby, 2015. Paperback. Buchzustand: New. book. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 163192611X

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 25,27
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Garnett, Rick
Verlag: Independent Pub Group (2015)
ISBN 10: 163192611X ISBN 13: 9781631926112
Neu Paperback Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Independent Pub Group, 2015. Paperback. Buchzustand: Brand New. 144 pages. 8.90x5.90x0.50 inches. In Stock. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 163192611X

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 27,69
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 6,81
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer