ISBN 10: 0571237053 / ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
3,96 durchschnittlich
(5.139 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe:

?Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.? ?Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall 

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds?and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other ?she-wolves,? as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much?and how little?has changed through the centuries. 

Klappentext:

When Edward VI died in 1553, the extraordinary fact was that there was no one left to claim the title of king of England. For the first time, England would have a reigning queen?but the question was which one: Katherine of Aragon's daughter, Mary; Anne Boleyn's daughter, Elizabeth; or one of their cousins, Lady Jane Grey or Mary, Queen of Scots.

But female rule in England also had a past. Four hundred years before Edward's death, Matilda, daughter of Henry I and granddaughter of William the Conqueror, came tantalizingly close to securing the crown for herself. And between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries three more exceptional women?Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, and Margaret of Anjou?discovered how much was possible if pre-sumptions of male rule were not confronted so explicitly?and just how quickly they might be vilified as "she-wolves" for their pains.

The stories of these women, told here in all their vivid detail, expose the paradox that female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman, and the king was the head of all. How, then, could royal power lie in female hands?

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: Used

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Castor, Helen
Verlag: Faber and Faber (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Goldstone Books
(Ammanford, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber and Faber, 2010. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0001534547

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 0,92
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 4,87
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Castor, Helen
Verlag: Faber and Faber (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber and Faber, 2010. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Includes dust jacket. A slight tan to the page edges. Slight shelfwear to the dust jacket. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0006784184

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 0,90
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,55
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Helen Castor
Verlag: Faber and Faber (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber and Faber, 2010. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. USED BUT OTHERWISE OF GOOD QUALITY ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0002573891

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,48
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,09
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Castor, Helen
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Hardback. Buchzustand: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GOR005683233

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 11,33
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 5,60
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Castor, Helen
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 8
Anbieter
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Hardback. Buchzustand: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GOR002258289

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 11,33
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 5,60
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Castor, Helen
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 3
Anbieter
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Hardback. Buchzustand: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GOR003305598

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 11,33
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 5,60
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Castor, Helen
Verlag: Faber and Faber Limited, London (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
All Books
(Chelmsford, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber and Faber Limited, London, 2010. Hard Cover. Buchzustand: Like New. Zustand des Schutzumschlags: Like New. First Edition. [2010] Like New First Edition. 474pp. Ilstd. The stories of these women - told here in all their vivid humanity - illustrate the paradox which the female heirs to the Tudor throne had no choice but to negotiate. Man was the head of woman; and the king was the head of all. How, then, could a woman be king, how could royal power lie in female hands? Black cloth; gilt titles; jacket unclipped. Clean; bright; tight; square; unmarked. For full appreciation see pictures. Order with confidence - trusted seller with excellent customer feedback. *PayPal* Accepted. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 032948

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 15,28
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 20,10
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Castor, Helen
Verlag: Faber & Faber, London 2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
THE CROSS Art + Books
(Sydney, NSW, Australien)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber & Faber, London 2010, 2010. 24.0 x 16.0cms, 474pp, colour illusts, fine hardback & dustwrapper The women are: Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France; Margaret of Anjou; Lady Jane Grey; Mary Tudor. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 131696

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 15,09
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 14,76
Von Australien nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

Castor, Helen
Verlag: Faber & Faber, London 2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
THE CROSS Art + Books
(Sydney, NSW, Australien)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber & Faber, London 2010, 2010. 24.0 x 16.0cms, 474pp, colour illusts, very good hardback & dustwrapper The women are: Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France; Margaret of Anjou; Lady Jane Grey; Mary Tudor. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 134956

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 15,09
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 14,76
Von Australien nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

Helen Castor
Verlag: Faber & Faber (2010)
ISBN 10: 0571237053 ISBN 13: 9780571237050
Neu Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Faber & Faber, 2010. Hardcover. Buchzustand: New. Buchnummer des Verkäufers P110571237053

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 57,50
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 2,67
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 1 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen