ISBN 10: 1590512324 / ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: Kirkus Reviews Lindstrom's great strength is her acerbic, yet strangely affecting understanding that the compromises people make with their ideals tell us more about them than the ideals themselves. The author moves sure-footedly between the stories of the women, but by the end, two of them emerge as the primary characters. In the case of these two especially, Lindstrom creates wonderfully rich personalities and quite distinct and distinctive patterns of speech and thought. A mix of lurid potboiler and classic bildungsroman, the story is occasionally too knowing for its own good, but its prose is fresh and its insights into the aging-hipster-turned-ambitious-careerwoman are both biting and poignant. Publishers Weekly Readers who like aSex and the Citymilieu but don't need their stories tied up with a bow on top will enjoy meeting this crowd. Library Journal A wonderfully entertaining and tender first novel; recommended for all fiction collections. San Diego Union TribuneJames Leigh Sparkle Lifeis also a highly readable, entertaining, and -- surprise! -- emotionally involving novel. The characters do develop, just as creative writing professors used to recommend, and if the endings are mainly happy, they are not predictable. Success is redefined; young and old turn out to want love as well as sex and power -- a concession to prospective producers, perhaps, but Lindstrom makes it ring true. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel Liv, Joy and Sara, women in their 30s, each with her own strong characteristics, enliven Kara Lindstrom's debut novel,Sparkle Life. Lindstrom, a native of Chicago, gives us a well-crafted contemporary tale of glitz, ambition and sex, a story that develops into an exploration of the challenges of daily living. Milwaukee Journal-SentinelGeeta Sharma-Jensen Like her prose and the title, [Kara Lindstrom's] novel sparkles - with glitz and wit, shot through with a tender sadness. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
2,62 durchschnittlich
(21 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe: Wholly contemporary and compulsively readable, this sparkling debut is a finely honed tale of sex, love, and making movies that is sure to appeal to fans of Nick Hornby and Melissa Bank.

Sparkle Life is about the movie business, sex, globalization, and real estate as told through the lives of three women in their 30s?Liv, Joy, and Sara. Liv is rich, talented, and promiscuous, tremendously attached to the men who raised her: her father, a very religious clothing manufacturer and her uncle, a Park Avenue psychiatrist. Joy makes lists: be a producer, married, and rich. Sara is extraordinarily observant, seeing details and identifying patterns, including her own inability to explain what the patterns mean.

Kara Lindstrom masterfully portrays a world where glitz, ambition, and sex are exposed to the seams. Yet, when her characters catch themselves in the compromises they live by, this racy tale is transformed into an incisive meditation on the challenges of everyday life.

Über den Autor: Kara Lindstrom was a set decorator and production designer on movies before becoming a screenwriter. She splits her time between Los Angeles and Paris.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Lindstrom, Kara
Verlag: Other Press (NY) (2006)
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Vereinigtes Königreich)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press (NY), 2006. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Acceptable. USED BUT OTHERWISE OF ACCEPTABLE QUALITY ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Buchnummer des Verkäufers mon0002153738

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,48
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,09
Von Vereinigtes Königreich nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Lindstrom, Kara
Verlag: Other Press
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear, and the pages have only minimal creases. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G1590512324I3N10

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

Lindstrom, Kara
Verlag: Other Press
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Motor City Books
(Brownstown, MI, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Minimal damage to cover and binding. Pages show light use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G1590512324I3N10

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Kara Lindstrom
Verlag: Other Press
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press. Hardcover. Buchzustand: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2711918502

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Kara Lindstrom
Verlag: Other Press
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press. Hardcover. Buchzustand: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 2725193056

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 3,51
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Lindstrom, Kara:
Verlag: Other Press, (2006)
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Antiquariat Libro de Oro
(München, Deutschland)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press, 2006. Gebundene Ausgabe. 296 Seiten Adressaufkleber auf Seite 1 2629 Sprache: Englisch Gewicht in Gramm: 454. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 11664

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 1,32
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 12,00
Von Deutschland nach USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

Kara Lindstrom
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
BookHolders
(gambrills, MD, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. [ No Hassle 30 Day Returns ][ Ships Daily ] [ Underlining/Highlighting: NONE ] [ Writing: NONE ] [ Edition: Reprint ] Publisher: Other Press Pub Date: 6/12/2006 Binding: Hardcover Pages: 290 Reprint edition. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 3209340

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 0,92
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,80
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Lindstrom, Kara
Verlag: Other Press 1/1/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press 1/1/2006, 2006. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. 1590512324 unmarked, light shelfwear-NICE. Buchnummer des Verkäufers Z1590512324Z2

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 7,58
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

Kara Lindstrom
Verlag: Other Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press, 2006. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Used: Good. Buchnummer des Verkäufers SONG1590512324

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 4,55
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,57
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

Kara Lindstrom
Verlag: Other Press (2006)
ISBN 10: 1590512324 ISBN 13: 9781590512326
Gebraucht Soft Cover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Book People
(Richmond, VA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Other Press, 2006. Soft Cover. Buchzustand: As New. About the movie business, sex, globalization, and real estate as told through the lives of three women in their 30s." 290 pages. Advanced Reading Copy (ARC). Buchnummer des Verkäufers 4855f

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 4,61
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,58
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 9 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen