ISBN 10: 0802719988 / ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht / Anzahl: 0
Bei weiteren Verkäufern erhältlich
Alle  Exemplare dieses Buches anzeigen

Über dieses Buch

Leider ist dieses Exemplar nicht mehr verfügbar. Wir haben Ihnen weitere Exemplare dieses Titels unten aufgelistet.

Beschreibung:

Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "A thoughtful and entertaining treatise on the seductivenessand consequencesof ignoring what's right in front of our eyes, from former CEO and author Heffernan ( The Naked Truth ). We frequently ignore painful or frightening truths, subconsciously believing that denial can protect us, she argues, but our delusions make us ever more vulnerable, and whatever suffering we choose to ignore continues unabated. The author draws examples from the privateBernie Madoff's family's blindness to his Ponzi scheme; a woman who married an alcoholic; another unable to see that her husband is sexually abusing her daughterto the public: Alan Greenspan ignoring the housing bubble, a soldier working for Hitler. She gives us an insightful look into the psychology of denial and makes an ethical and pragmatic argument for engagement rather than deflection. Heffernan's cogent, riveting look at how we behave at our worst encourages us to strive for our best." (Mar.) Publishers Weekly. Buchnummer des Verkäufers

Über diesen Titel:

Bewertung (bereitgestellt von Goodreads):
4,01 durchschnittlich
(820 Bewertungen)

Inhaltsangabe:

Margaret Heffernan argues that the biggest threats and dangers we face are the ones we don't see--not because they're secret or invisible, but because we're willfully blind. A distinguished businesswoman and writer, she examines the phenomenon and traces its imprint in our private and working lives, and within governments and organizations, and asks: What makes us prefer ignorance? What are we so afraid of? Why do some people see more than others? And how can we change?
Covering everything from our choice of mates to the SEC, Bernard Madoff's investors, the embers of BP's refinery, the military in Afghanistan, and the dog-eat-dog world of subprime mortgage lenders, this provocative book demonstrates how failing to see--or admit to ourselves or our colleagues--the issues and problems in plain sight can ruin private lives and bring down corporations. Heffernan explains how willful blindness develops before exploring ways that institutions and individuals can combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's Willful Blindness is a tour de force on human behavior that will open your eyes.

About the Author:

Margaret Heffernan has been the CEO of several businesses. Born in Texas and educated at Cambridge University, she worked for BBC Radio for five years where she wrote, directed, produced, and commissioned dozens of documentaries and dramas. Heffernan is author of The Naked Truth: A Working Woman's Manifesto on Business and What Really Matters and How She Does It: How Women Entrepreneurs Are Changing the Rules of Business Success, and is a regular contributor to Real Business and Fast Company magazine.

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Bibliografische Details

Zustand: New

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

Heffernan, Margaret
Verlag: Walker Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker Books, 2011. Buchzustand: Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP67670064

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 5,33
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

Heffernan, Margaret
Verlag: Walker Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Erstausgabe Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker Books, 2011. Buchzustand: Good. 1st. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Buchnummer des Verkäufers GRP92110782

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 5,33
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Seattle Goodwill
(Seattle, WA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. May have some shelf-wear due to normal use. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 0KVBKE004XU8

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 2,99
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

Margaret Heffernan
Verlag: Walker & Company
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker & Company. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Fair. Buchnummer des Verkäufers G0802719988I5N00

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 6,47
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

Margaret Heffernan
Verlag: Walker & Company (2011)
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker & Company, 2011. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Used: Good. Buchnummer des Verkäufers SONG0802719988

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 12,52
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

Heffernan, Margaret
Verlag: Walker Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker Books, 2011. Hardcover. Buchzustand: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Buchnummer des Verkäufers P020802719988

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 52,23
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,69
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Neu Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: New. This is a brand new book! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. Buchnummer des Verkäufers 1XGDJP001QK6_ns

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 52,43
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

Heffernan, Margaret
Verlag: Walker Books
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Neu Hardcover Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
BookHunter1
(Somerset, NJ, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker Books. Hardcover. Buchzustand: New. 0802719988 Some crumpled page corners from sloppy packing. Otherwise the dust jacket, the binding, and spine are excellent. Buchnummer des Verkäufers SKU1000602

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 54,96
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 2,55
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Gebraucht Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
BookSleuth
(Sanford, NC, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Buchzustand: Good. Willful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious at Our Peril. Buchnummer des Verkäufers SKU0194531

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Gebraucht kaufen
EUR 59,03
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

Heffernan, Margaret
Verlag: Walker Books (2011)
ISBN 10: 0802719988 ISBN 13: 9780802719980
Neu Hardcover Anzahl: 2
Anbieter
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Walker Books, 2011. Hardcover. Buchzustand: New. Never used!. Buchnummer des Verkäufers P110802719988

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Frage an den Anbieter

Neu kaufen
EUR 73,91
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 1,69
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt 6 weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen