Ami Mckay The Witches of New York

ISBN 13: 9780062359926

The Witches of New York

3,8 durchschnittliche Bewertung
( 7.782 Bewertungen bei Goodreads )
 
9780062359926: The Witches of New York
Alle Exemplare der Ausgabe mit dieser ISBN anzeigen:
 
 
Críticas:

"Nasty women, your party has arrived. Ami McKay's witches are in town.... The real aim of McKay's new novel is to show a group of believable women leading "an unconventional life..".. McKay is a fine plotter....The layering of narratives and styles is lively, and the multiple characters' pasts are especially absorbing.... Society types straight out of Edith Wharton pursue spiritualism for fun... but McKay widens her scope with grimier episodes.... She has a nose for the Dickensian."--Alix Hawley, Globe and Mail

"Boasting a set of core characters that are perfectly realised... The Witches of New York is a compelling, fast paced read.... [McKay's research] shows particularly strongly in the strength of the link she makes between accusations of witchcraft, and their associated punishments, and a deeply ingrained, often religiously driven, sexism. McKay does not shy away from that, instead embracing the dark history of witch hunts and witch trials, and making it abundantly clear that this it was not just about stamping out magic, but stamping out a form of power that was, and still is, dominated by women."--Jodie B. Sloan, AU Review (Australia)

"Lyrical prose and deft storytelling."--Chicago Sun-Times on The Birth House

"Strongly delineated characters and a vivid historical backdrop."--Kirkus on The Virgin Cure

"A labour of love, and a testament to the craft.... The novel unfolds with a hurtling intensity. But McKay doesn't let the compulsive momentum interfere with her deeper explorations of her characters....McKay is able to tease out hidden depths and contradictions with ease, revealing the characters in their confounding (and occasionally off-putting) complexity.... One cannot help but want to spend more time in the company of these witches."--Robert J. Wiersema, National Post

"The book is richly researched, and packed with enticing historical detail. McKay's prose is, as always, superb -- the descriptions enchanting, the narrative arcs compelling, the characters dear (or deliciously sinister, as the case may be). But it is the emotion of the novel that lingers longest, the pervading horror over the persecution of women -- and what this persecution has done to repress women's talents, impede their progress and stamp out their voices."--Tara Henley, Toronto Star

"So well researched is this novel, so deep does it take readers into the dark and desperate life of Lower Manhattan that it is easy to believe it was written 150 years ago as a treatise decrying the fate that awaited so many impoverished young girls. . . . The novel is an immersive coming-of-age story, unnerving and powerful."--Associated Press on The Virgin Cure

"Step into an exciting and spellbinding world, brought to us by the soaring imagination of Ami McKay.... McKay's seductive novel unfurls slowly amidst a miasma of menace, mischief, mystery and mesmerising magic.... A clever, compelling story of determined, independent women fighting for a place in a man's world of chauvinism, oppression and prejudice."--Lancashire Post, England

'In the tradition of Susanna Clarke's Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, Ami McKay recreates not just a historically confident vision of 1880's New York, but a richly imagined, detailed subculture of witchcraft, occultism, and sinister dark forces that coexist precariously, in plain sight; stealthily encroaching upon the affairs of the Gilded Age. Skillfully written, peopled with refreshingly authentic female characters and hurtling forward at a furious pace, McKay delivers that most precious of all experiences to discerning readers -- a refuge of intelligence, insight, and genuine invention. Easily one of my favorite books of the year.'--Kathleen Tessaro, author of Rare Objects and The Perfume Collector

"With a remarkable cast of characters... McKay has crafted a stunning work that bridges the gap between historical and contemporary women's issues. The novel is ambitious in its scope yet still delves deep into the thoughts and motivations of characters who normally exist on society's outskirts--or even beyond the earthly realm.... McKay's elegant prose bridges the gap between the real world and the spiritual realm with skill and compassion."--Kirkus, starred review

Reseña del editor:

A Buzzfeed Best Gift Book of the Year

“A dark, atmospheric, and feminist story of three women in New York City's Gilded Age, each determined to thrive in a society hell-bent on keeping them down, and using their coven to do so."    —Buzzfeed

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply.

New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums.

Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn.

When seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer an ad that reads "Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply," she has little inclination of what the job will demand of her. Beatrice doesn't know it yet, but she is no ordinary small-town girl; she has great spiritual gifts—ones that will serve as her greatest asset and also place her in grave danger. Under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice comes to harness many of her powers, but not even they can prepare her for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or the courage it will take to face them.

 

„Über diesen Titel“ kann sich auf eine andere Ausgabe dieses Titels beziehen.

Weitere beliebte Ausgaben desselben Titels

9781409128786: The Witches of New York

Vorgestellte Ausgabe

ISBN 10:  1409128784 ISBN 13:  9781409128786
Verlag: Orion Group, 2017
Softcover

9781318933457: The Witches of New York

HardPr..., 2016
Softcover

9780676979596: The Witches of New York

Softcover

9781409143512: The Witches of New York

Orion, 2016
Softcover

Beste Suchergebnisse bei AbeBooks

1.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu Anzahl: 10
Anbieter
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Collins Publishers. Zustand: New. Brand New. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers 0062359924

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,14
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,06
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

2.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 5
Anbieter
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY, DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER! NOT MARKED UP REMAINDERS OR DINGED AND DIRTY OVERSTOCKS!. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers OTF-S-9780062359926

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,41
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

3.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

4.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

5.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

6.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

7.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

8.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

9.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu PAPERBACK Anzahl: 1
Anbieter
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Zustand: New. 0062359924. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers Z0062359924ZN

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 11,89
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: Gratis
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

10.

McKay, Ami
Verlag: Harpercollins (2017)
ISBN 10: 0062359924 ISBN 13: 9780062359926
Neu Anzahl: > 20
Anbieter
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, USA)
Bewertung
[?]

Buchbeschreibung Harpercollins, 2017. PAP. Zustand: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bestandsnummer des Verkäufers VC-9780062359926

Weitere Informationen zu diesem Verkäufer | Verkäufer kontaktieren

Neu kaufen
EUR 8,58
Währung umrechnen

In den Warenkorb

Versand: EUR 3,39
Innerhalb USA
Versandziele, Kosten & Dauer

Es gibt weitere Exemplare dieses Buches

Alle Suchergebnisse ansehen